How should I get paid as a project manager?
Thread poster: Rea Bartlett Tandon
Rea Bartlett Tandon
Rea Bartlett Tandon
Bulgaria
Local time: 21:26
French to English
+ ...
Nov 13, 2020

Hi everyone!

So I’m a translation student (Master’s level, if that makes any difference) and am just starting a freelance partnership with a company. On top of performing translations for them myself, they also want me to act as a project manager for the language combinations I cannot translate between personally.

As I am charging per word for my translation services, I’m not sure how I should charge for the project management part for other translations. A small
... See more
Hi everyone!

So I’m a translation student (Master’s level, if that makes any difference) and am just starting a freelance partnership with a company. On top of performing translations for them myself, they also want me to act as a project manager for the language combinations I cannot translate between personally.

As I am charging per word for my translation services, I’m not sure how I should charge for the project management part for other translations. A small percentage of the overall project price, or a small price per word? Does anyone have and ideas or experience with this kind of setup?

Thank you in advance!
Collapse

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
By the hour Nov 13, 2020

I would charge by the hour. All other forms of pricing are just an approximation of an hourly labour rate anyway.

I’m intrigued by this arrangement though. It is pretty unusual...

Josephine Cassar
Sheila Wilson
Kevin Fulton
P.L.F. Persio
Angus Stewart
Sabine Braun
IrinaN

Rea Bartlett Tandon
Rea Bartlett Tandon
Bulgaria
Local time: 21:26
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
By the hour Nov 13, 2020

Good point, thank you