Thread poster: Maria Dilena
Maria Dilena
Maria Dilena  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:29
Italian to English
+ ...
Jan 16, 2012

I am a translator who often gets paid in foreign currencies. I am just wondering if anybody has any particular recommendations as to which companies/operators to use to convert foreign currencies into pounds sterling?

Stanislaw Czech, MCIL CL
Stanislaw Czech, MCIL CL  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2006)
English to Polish
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
XE.COM Jan 16, 2012

If I want to know the conversion rate and amount in a different currency I usually use www.xe.com When it comes to actual money exchange usually I'm either paid via Paypal which allows me to convert it to a different currency or I am paid by a transfer to my bank account and the bank applies its own exchange rate.

Best Regards
S

Tony M
Tony M
France
Local time: 13:29
French to English
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
PayPal Jan 16, 2012

Like Stanislaw, I use PayPal a lot; this has the advantage that one can keep the money in the PayPal account and wait until exchange rates are favourable before converting it back to the home currency. This is mainly of course applicable if you have a PayPal account in the source currency, and so it only gets 'converted' at the moment of transfer out to your account in the target currency.

Otherwise, I have found that there are generally greater day-to-day variations of exchange rat
... See more
Like Stanislaw, I use PayPal a lot; this has the advantage that one can keep the money in the PayPal account and wait until exchange rates are favourable before converting it back to the home currency. This is mainly of course applicable if you have a PayPal account in the source currency, and so it only gets 'converted' at the moment of transfer out to your account in the target currency.